Return to Main School Page

Explorers

Browse around the Dewey number 910 and 970 for general books on explorers.

E-Books:
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450.
Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World

Gale InfoTrac Databases:
Discovering Collection
Gale Biography in Context
Gale World History in Context

Databases in LearnAlberta:
Encyclopedias: History Study Center
World Book Advanced

Web Resources:

European Explorers of the "New World" in the Age of Exploration-
Discoverers Web Alphabetical list  - This site gives you a list of Explorers. Find your explorer's name and click on it. This will take you to information about your explorer.
The Age of Exploration - Information on most of the important explorers, from the ancient world to Capt. Cook. Created by The Mariners' Museum in Newport News, Virginia, USA.
Discovery and Exploration - Library of Congress American Memory site, which includes images of explorers' maps, journal entries, and historical documents.
Multnomah County Library Explorers - Multnomah County Library has compiled an extensive list of websites on exploration and explorers.
PASSAGES--A Treasure Trove of North American Exploration - From the National Library of Canada, this site had articles about many North American explorers, including many lesser known French explorers of Canada.
Maps of the Explorers - Maps of explorers, de Champlain, Hudson, etc. from Empire of the Bay, a PBS production.

 

 

 

Get Help

Email us

Strathcona.Library@epsb.ca

Teacher-Librarian

Kelly Reierson

Library Technician

Alicia Odeen




{main-site:google-analytics}