Strathcona High School Library

Facts & Figures: 350+ Scona Lords achieved AP Honours status in the last decade

Literary Criticism

Literary Criticism

What is literary criticism? How do I find it?

Literary criticism is the evaluation, analysis, description, or interpretation of literary works. It is usually in the form of a critical essay, but in-depth book reviews can sometimes be considered literary criticism. Criticism may examine a particular literary work, or may look at an author's writings as a whole. Finding literary criticism can be challenging. This pathfinder is designed to help you in researching and writing a paper that requires sources of literary criticism.

This pathfinder suggests some online and print sources, to show you what kinds of things are available on the Web and in the library.

Databases and E-Books (you need your password to access these OUTSIDE OF THE SCHOOL)

Just enter your novel title in the search boxes on the right hand side.

Literature Resource Center  

Gale Virtual Reference Library Conceptual Encyclopedia of World Literature 

Literatary Reference Centre from the Online Reference Centre

Biography in Context

Author Information

Want to read more about the author of the book you are researching, or the historical context in which it was written?

Literary Criticism Collection
Many author biographies are listed in this IPL collection. You can browse by your author's last name.

Criticism and Summaries

Literary Criticism Collection
This IPL collection provides links to online sources of biography, bibliography, and criticism about major authors and works written worldwide. The most comprehensive coverage is in American and British authors. 

Citatation Information

One of the best sources to use when creating your bibliography is the Owl Purdue Site.  Even if you are using the citation information directly from the databases, it is important to double check to ensure you have the MLA format done correctly---sometimes the database format is off a bit.