Return to Main School Page

                                                 

The Cold War

Books

In our library you can find information about the Cold War in the 320's as well as the 909's.

Ebooks --use the widgets on the right hand side to search our eResources

Cold War Reference Library. Sharon M. Hanes, Richard C. Hanes, and Lawrence W. Baker, Eds. Detroit: U*X*L, 2004. 1205 pp. 6 vols.

This reference library covers the Cold War period between the Western powers and the Communist bloc--from the end of World War II through 1989. The Almanac treats the historic causes of the tension. Biographies presents approximately 25 stories of the lives and actions of major figures, including Harry Truman, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin. Primary sources provides fully annotated, complete, and excerpted documents and other sources giving first-hand views of the Cold War.

Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Governments. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2008. 2 vols.

Provides a broad overview of national governments throughout history, explaining their structures and histories, key players and events, and how governments effect, and are affected by, social change.

Gale Encyclopedia of World History: War. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2008. 2 vols.

Provides a broad overview of war throughout world history, from ancient times to present, with a special emphasis on its causes and repercussions.

Webpages 

Spartacus: -This site has a comprehensive list of people, places and events to choose from with information of each.

Cold War museum:  The Cold War Museum is a non-profit organization dedicated to education, preservation, and research on the global, ideological, and political confrontations

International poster gallery: -This site has a great collection of Russian propaganda posters with English translations for each. You can search  by date or specific time period.

CBC Digital Archives : Cold War Culture - The Nuclear Fear of the 1950s and 1960s.  This includes television clips and audio clips as well as links.

WWW-VL History :The Cold War History 1945-1991

Cold War International History Project - Hosts hundreds of previously inaccessible documents dealing with the Cold War.

Cold War Project - This site is designed to facilitate continued study of the Cold War era. In our attempt to provide a full range of information we encourage educationally enhancing information from visitors.

Conelrad - Documents from the old emergency broadcast system. This is an important source for American culture during the Cold War.

Cold War Files: Interpreting History Through Documents - The Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources.

Revelations from the Russian Archive

Get Help

Email us

Strathcona.Library@epsb.ca

Teacher-Librarian

Kelly Reierson

Library Technician

Alicia Odeen




{main-site:google-analytics}