World War II
Use the school database World History in Context to find events, countries involved and the outcome.
For specific information on the leader's ideology and war-time decisions use Biography in Context
General Information
- Timeline: 1939-1945 - Click on a section of the timeline to view images and information. From the WW2 People's War Project of the BBC (British Broadcasting Company).
- D-Day - "This companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) American Experience program tells the story of the D-Day invasion of France on June 6, 1944, during World War II. It features a timeline, a map of the Allied Forces routes, personal stories from soldiers, a list of the contents of the paratroopers' packs, newspaper articles, profiles, and related information."
- Color Photographs from the FSA and the OWI Home Page - Hosted by the Library of Congress, this site offers color photographs taken between 1938 and 1944 of war-related scenes.
- They Drew Fire: Combat Artists of World War II ~ Devoted to the combat artists of World War II, who "depicted the war as they experienced it." Features a gallery of works; profiles of artists (Howard Brodie, Manuel Bromberg, William Draper, Richard M. Gibney, Robert Greenhalgh, and Ed Reep); and information on the Army and Navy art programs, the Marine Corps combat correspondent program, Life and Yank magazines, and Abbott Laboratories. Online companion to PBS documentary of same title.
- World War II Posters Collection - Images of "over 300 [World War II] posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies from the onset of war through 1945." Searchable, and browsable by date, title, and topic (including war bonds, victory gardens, recruitment, and rationing; use "Advanced searching options"). From the Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department of Northwestern University Library.
- World War II Military Situation Maps - This site "contains maps showing troop positions beginning on June 6, 1944 to July 26, 1945. Starting with the D-Day Invasion, the maps give daily details on the military campaigns in Western Europe. ... Some of the sheets are accompanied by a declassified 'G-3 Report' giving detailed information on troop positions." Also includes an interactive essay about the Battle of the Bulge. From the American Memory project at the Library of Congress.
- American Memory: Library of Congress - "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- Canada's Involvement in the Second World War- A site dedicated to facts about Canada's involvment in World War II.
- WW2 People's War: An Archive of World War Two Memories - This site "aims to capture and preserve for future generations the story of the British people during World War Two." Hosted by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), the site allows users to submit and read personal and family stories about British military and Home Front experiences during World War II. Searchable, and browsable by date, location, type of story, military unit, location in Britain, or key event (such as the Holocaust). Includes a glossary.
Women Come to the Front: Journalists, Photographers, and Broadcasters during WWII - This exhibit focuses on eight women who chronicled American life during the war, both at home and overseas: Therese Bonney, Toni Frissell, Marvin Breckinridge Patterson, Clare Boothe Luce, Janet Flanner, Esther Bubley, Dorothea Lange, and May Craig. Features biographical sketches and samples of their work as well as a brief history of women in journalism. Includes a list of women correspondents that worked during World War II. From the Library of Congress
Battles
- BBC - History - World Wars: The Battle of the Atlantic
- The Battle of the Atlantic - Military History Online
- BBC History Overview of Battle of Britian
The Battle of Britain "In Photos" - Battle Of Britain Historical Society
- The main phases of the Battle of Normandy
- The Battle of Normandy
- D-Day and the Battle for Normandy 60th Anniversary Commemoration Page
- Attack on Pearl Harbor: Ships, Heroes and Speeches
- Pearl Harbor Attack
- Pearl Harbor Raid, 7 December 1941
- Hiroshima and Nagasaki Remembered: Photographs
- Department of Defense - Battle for Iwo Jima
- Iwo Jima
- Operation Barbarossa
- Battle fo El Almein
Holocaust
- The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students - a detailed outline of topics related to the Holocaust including ghettos and camps.
- Holocaust Encyclopedia - (from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum) ~ An extensive resource of Holocaust topics
- The Holocaust History Project - "...a free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial."
- Holocaust/Shoah - A collection of original documents, letters, and photos document the Holocaust. Scroll down and click on "SURVIVORS & RESCUERS" or "THE THIRD REICH."
- Holocaust Survivors - Stories from Holocaust survivors; includes a photo gallery.
- Holocaust Timeline - Scroll down or click on each year to see a detailed list of events from 1933 through 1945 as well as a few post-war events.
- Cybrary of the Holocaust - Supplies historical perspectives, images, personal accounts, and more about the Holocaust.
- I*Earn Holocaust/Genocide Project - Contains bibliographies, student magazine, time lines.
- Jewish Virtual Library - Extensive information, maps, biographies, and images documenting the Holocaust
- Nazi Propaganda
- Nazi Race Laws to 1939
- The Nuremberg Race Laws
Japanese Internment
- Densho: The Japanese-American Legacy Project - With the goal of documenting oral histories of Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II, the site features essays on the causes of the incarceration along with selected oral history videos. Includes lesson plans, a glossary, a timeline, a bilingual (English and Japanese) exhibition, oral history archives (free registration required), and related links. From Densho, an organization whose Japanese name means "to pass on to the next generation."
- Japanese-American Relocation Digital Archives - "Documenting the experience of Japanese Americans in World War II internment camps," this searchable site provides access to tens of thousands of images and pages of electronic transcriptions. Includes photographs, manuscripts, paintings, drawings, letters, oral histories, and documents. Also features an overview essay about Japanese American relocation. From the California Digital Library.
- A More Perfect Union - Japanese Americans during the war. From the Smithsonian.
- The War Relocation Camps of World War II: When Fear Was Stronger than Justice National Park Service: Confinement and Ethnicity - An Overview of World War II Japanese American Relocation Sites.
- War Relocation Authority Camps in Arizona, 1942-1946 - Hosted by the University of Arizona library, this site features information and photographs from Japanese internment camps.
- Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar - "In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's best-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese Americans interned there during World War II. In "Suffering under a Great Injustice": Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar, the Prints and Photographs Division at the Library of Congress presents for the first time side-by-side digital scans of both Adams's 242 original negatives and his 209 photographic prints."
- Japanese Canadian History.net -The Japanese Canadian history web site is a companion to resource books developed with a Networks Grant from the Ministry of Education on the internment of Japanese Canadians from 1942 to 1949 and the attainment of redress in 1988.